• Academia.edu
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
  • YouTube

Europa Nostra - IEHC


Dr Pierre Laconte (BE)      Chairman

Mr David Morgan, MBE, TD (UK)      Vice-Chairman

Dr Paul Smith (FR)   Scientific Director

Drs Hildebrand de Boer (NL)   International Secretary

Peter Ovenstone (UK)     Secretary

Drs. Rienko Wilton (NL)     Founding Secretary

Ing. Eusebi Casanelles i Rahola (ES)

Prof. Dr Dietrich Soyez (DE)

Dr Piotr Gerber (PL)

Dr Christian Hanus (AT)

Mr Cyril Winskell, MBE, FRIBA (UK)

Arch. Francesco Calzolaio (IT)


Europa Nostra’s Industrial and Engineering Heritage Committee IEHC was founded on the initiative of individual EN members and got really momentum after EN’s Annual Congress in 2008 in Newcastle where “Securing the future of Europe’s Engineering Heritage” was a central theme. The IEHC consists of 10 members (all volunteers) from 7 European countries: Belgium, Netherlands, United Kingdom, Germany, France, Spain and Italy. The Committee meetings - twice a year – are hosted in turn by one of its members and include a IH-study tour of the main achievements in the region where the meeting is held. From 2008 onwards, the IEHC met in Brussels, Freiberg (Saxony), The Hague, Lille, Berlin, London and Venice. Future meetings are planned for Newcastle and Cologne.

The IEHC seeks to promote – on behalf of Europa Nostra – the values of Europe’s shared industrial and technical heritage and to encourage projects seeking to safeguard, restore and interpret this heritage, in all its aspects. These goals are enshrined in the committee’s Mission Statement, the “Greenwich Declaration” adopted in London in October 2011. When relevant and beneficial for all parties concerned, the IEHC is cooperating with like-minded international organisations like the International Committee for the Conservation of the Industrial Heritage TICCIH and the International Council on Monuments and Sites ICOMOS.

Apart from collective action within the IEHC itself, some of its members are active as Assessors or Members of the International Jury for the European Union Prize for Cultural Heritage / Europa Nostra Awards, as lobbyists or as authors of IH-related publications.
Since its conception in 2008 it has become tradition that the IEHC organises a separate special IH-excursion for participants of EN’s Annual Congresses as was the case in Taormina (2009), Istanbul (2010), Amsterdam (2011) and Lisbon (2012).
Industrial and Engineering Heritage Committee GREENWICH DECLARATION, October 2011

(c) Piotr Gerber 2017 - Meeting Katowice










Dr Pierre Laconte (BE) - Chairman

Pierre Laconte, founding chairman, was one of the three planners in charge of the “Groupe Urbanisme-Architecture” entrusted with the planning and architectural coordination of the new university town Louvain-la-Neuve near Brussels. He chairs the Foundation for Urban Enviroment (www.ffue.org). Pierre Laconte is Council member of Europa Nostra and expert-member of ICOMOS. Dr h.c. Edinburgh Napier University.

Mr David Morgan, MBE, TD (UK) - Vice-Chairman

David Morgan is President of the European Federation of Museum and Tourist Railways FEDECRAIL and of the World Association of Tourist Trams and Trains WATTRAIN. He is also Deputy-President of the Transport Trust, the UK charity that supports all forms of transport preservation, and Chairman of the Maritime Trust.

Dr. Paul Smith (FR) - Scientific Director

Dr. Smith is historian and researcher at the Heritage Department of the French Ministry of Culture and Communication in Paris.

Drs. Hildebrand de Boer (NL) - International Secretary

Hildebrand P.G. de Boer was born in 1955 in the Netherlands. Doctoraal degree in Art History and Archaeology at the State University of Groningen. Since 1983 he is professionally active in the field of heritage conservation, redevelopment and tourism, with emphasis on industrial and military heritage. De Boer is director of the Holland Route Foundation. Besides his international activities for Europa Nostra, ICOMOS and TICCIH, de Boer is Vice-President of the European Route of Industrial Heritage (ERIH e.V.).

Peter Ovenstone (UK) - Secretary

Current principle executive Heritage Railways Association roles are as Company Secretary, Chairman of HRA Heritage Committee and Chairman of HRA Scottish Committee. Professional qualification as Scottish sollicitor.

Ambas. Rienko Wilton (NL) - Founding Secretary

Growing up at his grandfathers shipyard in Rotterdam and destined to become fourth generation of shipbuilding naval architects, Wilton’s carreer followed a different direction. Het got a doctoraal degree in Politican Science at Amsterdam University and served as a Beirut based Middle East Correspondent for Dutch/ Belgian press-media. Joined the Netherlands Diplomatic Service in 1982 with postings in The Hague, Canberra, Bonn (Cultural Attache), Stockholm and Valletta (Ambassador). Joined Europa Nostra as volunteer in the field of IH and became IEHC Secretary at the very outset.

Ing. Eusebi Casanelles i Rahola (ES)

Born in 1948. Industrial Engineer. Director of the Museu de la Ciecia i de la Tecnica de Catalunya. Former President of TICCIH (2000-2009).

Prof. Dr. Dietrich Soyez (DE)

Dr Dietrich Soyez, Professor emeritus Geography, University of Cologne, major focus on Enviromental Economic Geography and Industrial (Heritage) Tourism. Since 2007 part-time Professor at Sun Yat-sen University/P.R. China. Dr Soyez is Vice-President of the International Geographical Union IGU.

Piotr Gerber, PhD Eng. Architect (PL)

Lecturer at the Faculty of Architecture at Wrocław University of Technology. Author of more than sixty publications on industrial architecture and protection of industrial heritage. Involved in rescuing industrial heritage in Poland. Involved, as an architect and manager, in hospital design and renovation projects. Member of the Monument Protection Council affiliated with the Ministry of Culture. Founder of the Museum of Industry and Railway in Silesia and the Foundation for the Protection of Silesian Industrial Heritage. His activities in the Foundation include the rescue of several industrial facilities important to the industrial history of Silesia.

Dr Christian Hanus (AT)

Christian Hanus graduated 2001 and completed his doctoral studies in 2006 at the ETH Zürich. He has been working at the Danube University Krems since 2007. He developed and supervised the successful teaching-program “Refurbishment and Revitalization”. Furthermore, he has been in charge of several national and international research-projects. He is Dean of the Faculty of Education, Arts and Architecture and Head of Department for Building and Environment.

Mr. Cyril Winskell, MBE, FRIBA (UK)

Born in North Shields, England in 1932, Cyril Winskell was educated and has practised as an architect on Tyneside throughout his working life. Past President of the Northern Architectural Association. He has specialised in building conservation and is responsible for many conservation projects in the north of England. A watercolourist of note whose architectural drawings have been hung in the Royal Academy Summer Exhibitions.

Arch. Francesco Calzolaio (IT)

Francesco Calzolaio was born in 1959 in Italy. He has a degree in Architecture from the Università Iuav di Venezia. Since 1999 he is teaching at the Venetian Workshop of the University of Minnesota (College of Design) where he is Adjunct Associated Professor at the Department of Landscape Architecture. Francesco Calzolaio is devoted to: design housing accessible to all kind of users, to the rehabilitation of industrial patrimony and to the management of international networks dedicated to the enhancement of the cultural territorial heritage. He is President of the cultural association Venti di Cultura, member of TICCIH and ICOMOS and since 2011 of Europa Nostra’s IEHC.

Home Links Europa Nostra - IEHC
© Foundation for the Urban Environment 2013